It All Comes Back To You by Beth Duke

I’m so happy to be bringing you my review of this beautiful book.  Today is my day on the blog tour and I’d like to take this opportunity to thank Anne Cater and Beth Duke for including me.

It All Comes Back To You cover

1947.  War’s over, cherry-print dresses, parking above the city lights, swing dancing. Beautiful, seventeen-year-old Violet lives in a perfect world .

Everybody loves her.

In 2012, she’s still beautiful, charming, and surrounded by admirers. Veronica “Ronni” Johnson, licensed practical nurse and aspiring writer, meets the captivating Violet in the assisted living facility where Violet requires no assistance, just lots of male attention.
When she dies, she leaves Ronni a very generous bequest―only if Ronni completes a book about her life within one year.

As she’s drawn into the world of young Violet, Ronni is mesmerized by life in a simpler time. It’s an irresistible journey filled with revelations, some of them about men Ronni knew as octogenarians at Fairfield Springs. Struggling, insecure, flailing at the keyboard, Ronni juggles her patients, a new boyfriend, and a Samsonite factory of emotional baggage as she tries to craft a manuscript before her deadline. But then the secrets start to emerge, some of them in person. And they don’t stop. Everything changes.

Alternating chapters between Homecoming Queen Violet in 1947 and can’t-quite-find-her-crown Ronni in the present, It All Comes Back To You is book club fiction at its hilarious, warm, sad, outrageous, uplifting, and stunning best. In the tradition of Major Pettigrew’s Last Stand and Olive Kitteridge, Duke delivers an unforgettable elderly character to treasure and a young heroine to steal your heart.

it all comes back to you blog tour cover .jpg

This book is beautiful – both in the actual story and in the way it’s written.  I absolutely loved going back in time to get to know a young Violet.  I laughed for her, I cried for her and I cheered her on.

Each of the characters are very real and this is reflected in their flaws – basic, human flaws.  Because of this, it’s a very easy book to get lost in and, even though it is written during two different periods of time, it’s not at all a chore.  In fact, it was a total pleasure to read.

I would recommend this book to anyone who likes characters they can get involved with and get to know better on a really meaningful level.

It’s heart-breaking, heart-warming and a very, very special story.  It’s packed full of tenderness, aswell as some very difficult moments.

You won’t regret taking the time to get to know Violet and Ronni, and everyone that comes along with them.

The Art of Dixie is the official publisher of It All Comes Back To You.

Happy Reading!

xoxo

 

 

 

 

Published by girlmeetsbook

Mother of Dragons, rugby coach and eternal dreamer. I love nothing more than being lost down the rabbit hole of books and my Kindle. With a pinch of empowerment, a teaspoon of solitude and the odd G&T I'm not shy of an opinion or letting you know what passions stir my mind! Musings of a binge reader.

Join the Conversation

1 Comment

Leave a comment

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: